Mana Whenua

Mana Whenua refers to iwi and hapū who have historic and territorial rights over the land in Te Awa Kairangi | Hutt Valley.

Who are Mana Whenua

The history and narratives of the iwi of Te Awa Kairangi are held within the lands which have been occupied over many generations and it is these lands that enables and sustains the people, the places, and the processes of Te Ao Māori (Māori worldview).

Mana Whenua interests are represented by two Mana Whenua marae, Te Tatau o Te Pō and Waiwhetū Marae, and five iwi organisations (below).

Council and Mana Whenua

Hutt City Council’s vision is that we will meaningfully embrace and incorporate Te Ao Māori  in our policies and practices, be aware and responsive to Māori needs and aspirations, and fulfil our obligations under the principles of Te Tiriti o Waitangi. Council recognises the critical value that a strong partnership with Mana Whenua can bring to building a city where everyone thrives.

Council aims to ensure we have the right relationships and processes in place to enable partnership with Mana Whenua, effective participation, and a shared decision-making focus. This includes meaningful, timely and inclusive engagement at all levels that requires teams to think about the role of Mana Whenua in the planning and delivery of our work programmes and the equitable resourcing for this in line with Council obligations to Mana Whenua.

Council has developed Tākai Here (memoranda of partnership) with the five iwi organisations and two marae representing Mana Whenua and iwi Māori in Te Awa Kairangi ki Tai Lower Hutt. These take a covenant approach, reflect iwi plans and align with Council and iwi aspirations.

Taranaki Whānui ki Te Upoko o Te Ika Trust is a Post Settlement Governance Entity (PSGE), established under the Port Nicholson Block (Taranaki Whānui ki Te Upoko o Te Ika) Claims Settlement Act 2009 and the associated Deed of Settlement.

The trustees of the Port Nicholson Block Settlement Trust represent the interest of the descendants of tribes living in the Wellington Harbour area at the time of the signing of the Treaty of Waitangi (6 February 1840) that originated from the Taranaki region of the North Island. These iwi include Te Āti Awa, Ngāti Tama, Taranaki Tūturu, Ngāti Ruanui, and other iwi from the Taranaki area (for example, Ngāti Mutunga). The collective name given to these iwi is Taranaki Whānui ki Te Upoko o Te Ika (often referred to as Taranaki Whānui).

Memorandum of Partnership with Taranaki Whānui ki Te Upoko o Te Ika (Port Nicholson Block Settlement) Trust (PDF 5.39MB)

The Rūnanga is the mandated iwi authority for Ngāti Toa Rangatira and is the administrative body of iwi estates and assets. The Rūnanga deals with the political and public issues of national interest such as Treaty of Waitangi claims, commercial and customary fisheries, health services including primary mental health and residential care services, local government relationships and resource and environmental management.

Memorandum of Partnership with Te Rūnanga o Toa Rangatira Incorporated (PDF 455KB)

The Wellington Tenths Trust is an Ahu Whenua (Lands) Trust constituted by the Māori Land Court Order of 16 December 2003, pursuant to Section 244 of Te Ture Whenua Māori Act 1993, which varied the original Trust Deed of 1977, and the subsequent variation of Deed made on 17 July 1996.

The Trust was established to administer Māori Reserve lands, largely in urban Wellington, although it also administers a rural block in Kaitoke, Upper Hutt. The Trust owns a total of 81 hectares of land.

Memorandum of Partnership with Wellington Tenths Trust (PDF 18.1MB)

The Palmerston North Māori Reserve Trust is an Ahu Whenua (Lands)Trust constituted by the Māori Land Court under Section 244 of Te Ture Whenua Māori Act 1993. This Trust originated through an act of the Crown in 1866. Governor Grey exchanged Te Ātiawa land interests in Wainuiomata, Lower Hutt, with a block of land which is now part of central Palmerston North.

Te Rūnanganui o Te Āti Awa ki Te Upoko o Te Ika a Māui Incorporated represents Te Āti Awa as an iwi-based organisation in Te Whanganui a Tara. Te Rūnanganui have particular regard to the cultural, social and economic aspirations of whānau and hapū tribal members of Te Āti Awa and other Taranaki Māori tribal members, and all other Māori including members of the general public who reside in the areas of Wellington and the Hutt Valley.

Memorandum of Partnership with Te Rūnanganui o Te Āti Awa ki Te Upoko o Te Ika a Māui Incorporated (PDF 19.4MB)